losing someone

My future Father-in-law has passed away last week from cancer. Tomorrow it is his funeral. Though I have only met him a few times, he made me feel welcome to the family. I wish I had the opportunity to get to know him more. As I ponder about losing someone close to your heart, knowing we will miss them so very much, I can’t help but wonder how wonderful it will be when we are called home and be reuniting with them.

It has been over 20 years since my own Dad passed away. There isn’t one day that I do not think about him, and miss him. Just typing about this, I can visualize him, see him as he was standing right in front of me. I see his shy smile.

Life is really short when we really think about it. Many live in general between 75 to 85 years old before they are called home. It is what we make of this short life that makes it worthwhile. Look at how my Dad at age 64 was called home? We hear it so often: “He was young still, so sad” But you know, as I reflect on that, my Dad had a good life. He had a loving devoted wife, myself as his daughter loved him and always valued each lesson he has given me. He was loved by all that met him. He did live a full life, for him. He fulfilled all that was required of him before being called home. That is my thoughts anyways.

The important ways that they influenced you or helped you in someway in your life will never go away. And if they helped you become a better person for it , not can never be taken away either. We must all die someday , but if we work hard to love each other and contribute to other people’s lives in some way , then we shall never die but live on in other people’s memories, hopes, dreams, and if we are lucky enough make a footnote in the history book.

I leave you all with this end thoughts: We are each entwine to one another, and each hold a special bond. Some bonds are stronger, be it by family or just friendship. So, remember that each word, each action we say/do, we make an imprint in the lives of all we encounter.

About joannelamesse

Just a blogger who shares her thoughts, desires, and meeting like minded souls. I am one who believes in God, His word, and I am also interested in preparing, surviving as well. Love nature, and learning more on simple life
This entry was posted in reflecting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

