Wisdom

Let us read Proverbs 1:20-33

“For that they hated knowledge, and did not choose the fear of the LORD: They would none of my counsel: they despised all my reproof. Therefore shall they eat of the fruit of their own way, and be filled with their own devices. For the turning away of the simple shall slay them, and the prosperity of fools shall destroy them.” – Proverbs 1:29-32

I always felt in my heart that the fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom. Why do I say that you ask? Well, don’t we all have short term goals where we can attain but not long-term goal because it takes too long? Well, the fear of the long term goal I see is being with the Lord, being in heaven with Him. You see, the long-range goal requires “knowledge… the fear of the Lord… counsel… and reproof.”

Did you ever find yourself “fed up” with yourself and with your own devices? This may have to happen for us to see how bitter indeed it is the fruit of our own will and willfulness. As Christians, we know that the wise choice is to seek God’s will before our own. His way is best, even though it may seem hard for the moment.

Wisdom is calling out to us in the midst of our busy lives to stop/listen/and heed. Should we continue on our deluded merry way, when calamity strikes, the message will be too late to hear, and the consequences can be eternal. Wisdom roams the streets looking for someone to instruct. The ways of right and wrong, as presented in this word of God, are open for all to read and follow. Jesus describes a king sending his servants into the streets to invite people to the wedding of his son. Christ concludes the parable with the words “For many are invited, but few are chosen.” Proverbs goes on to speak of what happens when people don’t heed the call.  Many people put off God’s Word as if it’s something they’ll get around to later in life. “I’ll worry about that when I’m old and retired and have nothing else to do” is their attitude. The tragic fact is that most people who reject the Word in their youth won’t be able to grasp it in their old age either. So, a wise choice would be what? Reading, studying, meditating, praying God’s word, and now. Join me today in choosing His word.

0123

About joannelamesse

Just a blogger who shares her thoughts, desires, and meeting like minded souls. I am one who believes in God, His word, and I am also interested in preparing, surviving as well. Love nature, and learning more on simple life
This entry was posted in reflecting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wisdom

  1. It never ceases to amze me just how many times God uses you to communicate something to me – not fifteen minutes ago I was praying that He would work His will in my life and not allow me to order things in accordance with my will. My whole life has been a succession of choices that I made and most all of them turned out to be wrong, and yet… Here I am at this point in time, still seeking His will before my own. There is a way that seems right to a man and I for one have tired of choosing the wrong way and am ready to let Him show me His. Thanks so much for sharing, Joanne!

  2. Pingback: So Ignorance Is Bliss? | icare2day

Leave a Reply

